KULTURAUSTAUSCH – a magazine of international perspectives

is a German-language quarterly magazine, translated into English on our web edition. It explores current international and cultural topics from unusual angles, taking on one overarching theme in each new edition. Contributors including Naomi Klein, Achille Mbembe, Noam Chomsky, Charles Taylor, Amartya Sen and Saskia Sassen have probed issues spanning politics, culture and society in our pages. The publication started out as a newsletter in 1951 and has continued in magazine form since 1962. Today, KULTURAUSTAUSCH readers live in 146 countries. The journal is published by the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations (ifa) and the ConBrio publishing house, with financial support by the Federal Foreign Office. The publisher is the ifa General Secretary Ronald Grätz and Jenny Friedrich-Freksa is KulturAustausch Editor-in-Chief. 

Editorial Board

Johannes Ebert, Goethe Institute General Secretary, Munich 

Prof. Dr. Naika Foroutan, Political scientist, Humboldt University, Berlin 

Theo Geißler, Publisher, Regensburg  Martina Hackelberg, Foreign Office, Berlin 

Jagoda Marinić, Writer and journalist, Heidelberg  

Evelyn Roll, Journalist, Berlin 

Ebba Scholl, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Dr. Claudia Schmölders, Cultural scientist, Berlin 

Aleš Šteger, author, Ljubljanaris Fioretos, author, Stockholm